Holcim PH plants recognized anew by DoE for energy efficiency


Holcim Philippines’s Engineer Hazel Madegyem receives the Award of Recognition from (left) Energy Undersecrtary Jesus Posadas, Secretary Alfonso Cusi and Utilization and Management Bureau Director Patrick Aquino during the 2016 Don Emilio Abello Energy Efficiency Awards on 12 December 2016 in Pasay.

Construction solutions company Holcim Philippines, Inc. was again recognized during the 2016 Don Emilio Abello Energy Efficiency Awards by the Department of Energy (DOE) as among the large industrial firms that efficiently operate its facilities.

The company’s cement plants in Bacnotan, La Union and Norzagaray, Bulacan won Awards of Recognition for representing the Philippines in the ASEAN Competition Best Practice for Energy Management in Buildings and Industries.

The La Union plant was cited for its use of alternative fuel and raw materials to reduce its coal consumption, while Bulacan was recognized for its best practices in energy management through process improvements.

Holcim Philippines COO Sapna Sood thanked the Department of Energy for the recognition, stressing the company’s continued support for the country’s development in a sustainable manner.

“Our company is committed to further improving its operational efficiency, an integral part of our global advocacy for sustainability that is most relevant to viability of business and industry. This approach allows us to better support the country’s continued development as the government ramps up its infrastructure building,” she said.

Holcim Philippines is a consistent recipient of the energy efficiency award. Last year, its plants in Misamis Oriental and Davao City received outstanding awards for improving its energy efficiency by 5% from the prior year. In 2014, the company’s Bulacan plant was elevated to the Hall of Fame for receiving the Outstanding Award for three straight years.


The DoE has been conferring the awards for over 30 years to recognize firms that significantly reduce their energy consumption. Participating companies submit consumption reports that are evaluated by energy officials from the public and private sector. The award is a tribute to Emilio Abello, the former Meralco Chairman and CEO.